Movers & Shakers

By Unknown Updated: March 20, 2019 4:00 AM CT | Published: March 19, 2019 3:41 PM CT

Moore Tech College has promoted a key executive and added two more:

  • Karen Treas, placement officer since 2014, has been promoted to vice president of career services and industry relations. Treas is a Michigan State University graduate, and prior to joining Moore Tech, she was a technical sales representative for Buckman Laboratories.
  • Jerry Johnson has been hired as chief financial officer. Johnson formerly served as director of finance and administration for the Greater Memphis Alliance for a Competitive Workforce.
  • Andrea Baird has been hired as vice president of student services. Baird previously was manager of accountability and special initiatives for GMACW.


Two University of Tennessee Health Science Center employees have been recognized as 2019 University of Tennessee President’s Awards winners. The President’s Awards are the highest honor a UT employee can receive from the university and are intended to spotlight success and inspire excellence. The UTHSC honorees are:

  • Discover Honoree Karen Johnson, UTHSC College of Medicine endowed professor of women’s health, has made significant scientific contributions to the understanding of and interventions for hypertension and postmenopausal hormone replacement therapy. She has been funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for 24 years, receiving more than $50 million in grant funding. She also has contributed as a co-investigator in peer-reviewed studies funded by NIH or the Department of Defense. The funding for those studies total more than $45 million.
  • Support Honoree Kathy Gibbs is assistant vice chancellor for student academic support services and inclusion (SASSI). Gibbs researches best practices in academic support and has created multiple tutoring programs that assist students and has helped educate staff with test preparation. She also added two mental health counselors and a case manager to SASSI per the advice of national experts.


Pat Nelson, president and chairman of Memphis-based Lehman-Roberts Co., has been elected secretary of the 2019 National Asphalt Pavement Association (NAPA) board of directors. Nelson has served as president of Lehman-Roberts since 2012 and chairman of the board since 2017, and is part of the fourth generation of Roberts family ownership. As NAPA secretary, Nelson will work alongside four other national officers to govern and oversee the trade association’s operations.


Renasant Bank has promoted Sarah Haney to associate managing director in its Private Client Group. Haney, who joined Renasant in 2017 as assistant relationship manager, is based in the bank’s 5264 Poplar Ave. location. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in marketing from the University of Tulsa.


Southern College of Optometry has established a five-member community advisory committee to provide strategic oversight and guidance in the development of new community vision care programs, partnerships and awareness efforts to reach a wider range of patients across the Mid-South. The appointed members of the committee are Maria Fuhrmann, grants coordinator for the city of Memphis; Mark Sturgis, executive director of Seeding Success; Gerre Curry, newly appointed City Council member for District 6 and vice president at Financial Federal; Dr. Phil Baker, CEO and founder of Good Shepherd Pharmacy; and Caprice Morgan, community outreach coordinator for United Healthcare.


Southern College of Optometry has added Anita Davis and Dr. Jennifer Lyerly to its board of trustees. Davis is the vice president for diversity, equity and inclusion at Trinity College in Hartford, Connecticut, and a tenured associate professor at Rhodes College in Memphis. She holds a Ph.D. and a Master of Arts in clinical-community psychology from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and a Bachelor of Arts from Rhodes College. Lyerly is a practicing optometrist and the director of contact lens care at Triangle Visions in Cary, North Carolina. She graduated from SCO in 2011 and was named outstanding clinician in her class.


James “Wally” Wallace, a practicing metalsmith and former founding director of the Metal Museum, has been selected as the recipient of the Society of North American Goldsmiths (SNAG) 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award, the organization’s highest honor. Wallace led the Metal Museum for 30 years and retired in 2007. SNAG’s Lifetime Achievement Committee noted “it was in his role as founder and director of the Metal Museum that his vision played such an important part in the evolution of our field. … His contributions have impacted every sub-discipline of our broader field – from blacksmiths to art jewelers, from students to masters, from makers to collectors to writers, researchers, and so on.”


The Tennessee Commission on Children and Youth has awarded former Memphis and Shelby County Mayor A C Wharton its Douglas Henry Public Official of the Year Award for his contributions to child well-being. Among the things TCCY noted, Wharton collaborated with statewide stakeholders to develop a strategy to address infant mortality and established the county’s Fetal Infant Mortality Review; worked to establish the School House Adjustment Program Enterprise (SHAPE) in Memphis City Schools; and was instrumental in the establishment of the Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) Task Force.


The Humane Society of Memphis & Shelby County added Brandon Kano, Anna Mullins Ellis and Tony Roe to its 2019 board of directors. Kano is a senior manager in the KPMG Memphis audit practice, Ellis is the president and CEO of New Memphis, and Roe is a manager in the Business Tax Services group of Deloitte’s Tennessee Tax practice.


Women of Achievement Inc. will honor nine Memphis and Shelby County women for changemaking leadership at the 35th annual Women of Achievement awards March 24. The honorees are:

  • Courage: Mildred Richard-Edwards, HIV/AIDS advocate
  • Determination: Rachel Coats Greer, Binghampton community advocate, and Mary E. Mitchell, Orange Mound community advocate
  • Heroism: Gabriela Salinas, cancer survivor and scientist
  • Heritage: Estelle Axton, co-founder, Stax Records, and Cornelia Crenshaw, civil rights activist
  • Initiative: Maxine Starling Strawder, dancer, Project: Motion
  • Steadfastness: Dr. Jane Hooker, women’s sports advocate
  • Vision: Dr. Carol Danehower, domestic violence researcher and educator


Memphis attorney Jim Barry has been named to the board of directors of the Tennessee Justice Center, a Nashville-based nonprofit legal advocacy firm. Barry, who retired in 2018 as chief counsel corporate litigation for International Paper Co., is chairman of the board of directors of the Community Legal Center in Memphis; chair of the Tennessee Bar Association Access to Justice Committee; and a member of the Memphis Bar Association Access to Justice Committee. He also serves as the co-chair of the Corporate Counsel Pro Bono Initiative.


The Institute of Museum and Library Services has named the National Civil Rights Museum among the 30 finalists for the 2019 National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The medal is the nation’s highest honor given to museums and libraries for service to their communities. It celebrates institutions that demonstrate extraordinary and innovative approaches to public service and are making a difference for individuals, families and communities. National Medal winners will be announced later this spring and honored at a ceremony June 12 in Washington, D.C.

Send announcements for consideration to associate editor Kate Crawford at


Movers & Shakers

Comment On This Story

Section Emails

Sign up to get the latest articles from the Business section.