Mississippi issues stay-at-home order for COVID-19 positive citizens

By , Daily Memphian Updated: August 04, 2020 4:10 PM CT | Published: August 04, 2020 4:07 PM CT

Mississippi’s State Health Officer Thomas Dobbs M.D., issued a statewide order on Tuesday, Aug. 4, for any citizens in the state to isolate at home if they have been diagnosed with COVID-19, effective immediately.

“We have a lot of COVID activity throughout the state right now, so it is absolutely critical that anyone infected with COVID-19, and not hospitalized, must remain in the home or other appropriate residential location for 14 days from onset of illness (or from the date of a positive test for those who are asymptomatic),” Dobbs said in a release.


Mississippi hot with COVID-19; experts worry fatalities may be under-counted


Failure or refusal to obey the order of a health officer is, at a minimum, a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $500 or imprisonment for six months or both. If a life-threatening disease is involved, failure or refusal to obey the order is a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 or imprisonment for up to five years or both.

Persons infected with COVID-19 should limit exposure to household contacts, according to the release. No visitors should be allowed in the home.

Those isolating should stay in a specific room away from others in the home and use a separate bathroom if available. Those who can’t avoid being around others in the home should wear face mask.

For more about preventing transmission in the home, visit this CDC site for guidance.


Comment On This Story

Become a subscriber to join the discussion.
Email Editions

Sign up for our morning and evening editions, plus breaking news.

Manage Your Email Subscriptions