TN General Assembly honors Memphis 13

By , Daily Memphian Updated: March 08, 2022 9:27 AM CT | Published: March 03, 2022 4:19 PM CT

Bill sponsored by G.A. Hardaway recognizes Black first-graders who integrated four Memphis schools in 1961 as ‘young civil rights leaders.’


Memphis Shelby County Schools Memphis 13 Sharon Malone John Rich Sheila Malone E.C. Freeman Fentress alvin Freeman Deborah Holt Dwania Kyles Pamela Mayes Jacqueline Moore Joyce Bell White Leandrew Wiggins Clarence Williams Harry Williams Michael Willis Menelik Fombi
Ian Round

Ian Round

Ian Round is The Daily Memphian’s state government reporter. He came to Tennessee from Maryland where he reported on local politics for Baltimore Brew. He earned a Master of Journalism degree from the University of Maryland in December 2019.


Reading comments and joining the conversation are some of the many benefits of subscribing. Join the conversation by clicking the View Comments button below. Not a subscriber? Click here. 

Our commenting policy can be viewed here