Three Democratic clerks fall to rival Democrats in Tuesday primaries

By , Daily Memphian Updated: May 04, 2022 2:23 PM CT | Published: May 04, 2022 12:30 AM CT

Only one of the incumbent Democratic clerks from 2018’s Democratic sweep of the offices was without a challenge from within the party. Three of the incumbents didn’t survive to advance to the August county general election.


Shelby County Election Commission 2022 elections 2022 county primaries Arriell Q. Gipson Wanda Halbert William Stovall Mondell Williams Jamita Swearengen Willie Brooks Shelandra Ford Eddie Jones Bill Morrison

Bill Dries on demand

Never miss an article. Sign up to receive Bill Dries' stories as they’re published.

Enter your e-mail address

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Bill Dries

Bill Dries

Bill Dries covers city and county government and politics. He is a native Memphian and has been a reporter for more than 40 years.


Want to comment on our stories or respond to others? Join the conversation by subscribing now. Only paid subscribers can add their thoughts or upvote/downvote comments. Our commenting policy can be viewed here